During this semester I have made many different project that all fit into a particular theme. Some of these projects include my multi-wheel project or teapot, hand and wheel project, and all three of my theme choice projects. The first of my theme choice projects is an owl cup, the second is a vase with a tree carved into the side and the third is a vase with flowers carved into the side. All of these projects project imagery of different form of life that occur in nature. They have all started as simple pieces and have been transformed due to the adding and subtracting of clay to and from the different projects. They all fall into the view point and theme of nature. Most of these projects have a certain flow of a design that goes from the top to the bottom of the piece. For example, my hand and wheel has pieces of rolled clay and flowers that climb up the project, just like a forest vine would in nature. They all are made so that the viewer will be able to notice the piece and be able to relate to it as soon as they sees it.             With all of my projects I use the same methods of adding and subtracting different amounts of clay to put together the image in my head on to the project. In order to do this I use tools such as carving tools and mostly my hands to form different pieces of clay. I use these tools to carve into my projects and make different shapes and designs from clay to add to them. Doing this allows me to be able to take the image in my head and make it to life on my work. Doing this also enhances my choice of imagery and the different ways it can be viewed and looked at by different viewers. 
            My methods of adding and subtracting clay to convey a a natural image speak to the reader in their mind and memory. When a viewer looks at a project of mine they are able to notice what the piece is or what it is about immediately and are able to relate that to an image in their mind or an image/experience in their past. For example, if them look at my theme choice with the tree on it, it could remind them of camping or walking through the forest or meadow. When you look at a project that fits into my theme it ties you to things that you already know and feel. The way it canvey life in nature make you able to link it to past memories, feeling, even the smells and sounds of an excluded forest or meadow. 

My work uses the motif of nature and different life forms in nature and the techniques of adding and subtracting clay to evoke feeling of remembrance and activating the senses to be able to relate to the artwork in a thoughtful and meaningful way. 



Leave a Reply.